Artificial intelligence: The Commission welcomes the opportunities offered by the final Assessment List for Trustworthy AI (ALTAI)

The European Commission welcomes today the Assessment List for Trustworthy AI (ALTAI), a check list for business and organisations to self-assess the trustworthiness of their artificial intelligence (AI) systems under development. This will further strengthen the benefits that AI yields to the economy and society as a whole.

The concept of Trustworthy AI, introduced by the High-Level Expert Group on AI (AI HLEG) through the Ethics Guidelines on Trustworthy AI, is based on seven key requirements:

  1. human agency and oversight,
  2. technical robustness and safety,
  3. privacy and data governance,
  4. transparency,
  5. diversity, non-discrimination and fairness,
  6. environmental and societal well-being and,
  7. accountability.

ALTAI is the first instrument that translates AI principles into an accessible and dynamic checklist that developers and deployers of AI can use. 

Read more here

This content has been updated on 10 February 2022 at 15 h 59 min.